THIS is ME!

29 Oct

Design Refuge has a challenge this month: find a space/picture that is very YOU and share.  So here is mine which I found on Houzz.  The reason this is me is because its got the glam-nautical vibe that I so adore.  Second, its got blue in different shades and in an awesome print.  Then it’s got vintage looking prints of fish and a capiz mirror.  Next, a tufted headboard.  Finally, a black and white striped rug.  What more can you really ask for?  This is me, people.  It’s glam/nautical/hollywood regency-ness at its best.  Surrounding myself with a room like this reminds me of days by the sea, peace and serenity and my travels abroad while still making me feel sophisticated and glamorous.

 

Want to see other contestants’ entries?  Go here: http://www.design-refuge.com/2010/10/october-challenge-this-is-me.html

I find it challeging to really define what your style is.  For me, the key to personal design and decor is to surround yourself with what you love.  Here is my challenge to you: today, find a picture of a room that you absolutely love.  It has to be something that you could see yourself living in and something that makes you smile.  Then ask yourself why you love it.  It might be the headboard, the side table, the colors, or the lines in the furniture.  That one picture can help you to figure out and define what your style is.  So, you tell me.  What is your style?

3 Responses to “THIS is ME!”

  1. Dagny Thurmann-Hoelseth October 29, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    Oh no, I’m so sorry you missed the deadline!! Great post though, and our next challenge is up in the middle of November 🙂

  2. Dream Mom October 29, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Very nice. Why not try to recreate the room at home?

  3. The Mango Archives November 1, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    That’s a great idea, Dream Mom. My living room actually embodies this style, but it does not recreate it. This is more a piece of design inspiration for me which represents my style. As for my house, however, I like to bring in pieces I already have along with a few new ones together to embody the style in its own interpretation. I need to post a tour of it soon!

Leave a Reply

