DIY Make Your Own Candle Project!

6 Nov

Yesterday afternoon I noticed Design Sponge had a great feature from Ashley Ann Photography about using old tin cans as candles and thought: I have wanted to do that with my Harrods tin cans! Finally, something to inspire me to get off my chair and over to Michaels for some candle making supplies!  The Harrods tin cans I have had for years—YEARS, people!  They have literally just been floating around without any real function from apartment, to house and now over to the Mango House.  And ever since I wrote an article on the effects of lavender on stress hormones in the body for a newsletter at work I have been completely obsessed with finding a pleasant lavender candle.  Really, I have just been obsessed with lavender.  Remember the lavender growing in my garden?   But, I am extremely picky with how my candles have to smell.  At some point in the last two months I started to entertain the idea of making my own lavender candle and so I started to collect jars and different containers for candle makings, but it was not until today that I finally did it!  My review: it’s great!  So after much ado here is the run down:

Materials:

  • Premium Wax (I only had 1 pound on hand)
  • Double boiler (or pouring pot and normal pan)
  • Thermometer (I think you could do it without this)
  • Some form of candle dye (optional)
  • Essential lavender oil
  • Vanilla scent block (you can also use another essential oil)
  • Wicks
  • Container for candles
  • Wooden skewer or similar object

Instructions:

1. Clean your containers out and dry them. I used these:

 

2. Melt wax in double boiler.  I melted a total of a pound of wax.  I used a pouring pot that you can purchase at any crafts store.

3. Some suggest that you should glue gun the wick to the base of the container (I did not do this step because my new glue gun did not work).

4. Continually stir or move pot with wax.

5. Once wax is melted and at approximately 150 degrees Fahrenheit, put in color dye.

6. Once color is fully mixed in pour in scent (note: if you want to see how intense your color is, just pour a drop onto something.)

7. I used 45 drops of essential lavender oil (from Wholefoods) and half of the vanilla scented block.

8. Heat containers in the oven at 150°.  I just put mine in there for a bit until it felt hot to the touch.

9. Once the wax is fully mixed in, pour into container. Make sure to save a small amount to pour later.

10. Let sit for about five minutes and insert wick into container.

11. If you need to move the wick use a small wooden skewer or similar object.

12. Hold wick with wooden skewer, chopsticks, measuring spoon or whatever else you have on hand.

13. Leave it alone for 20-30 minutes.

14. Melt the amount that you left in the pot in step 8.

15. You will note that your candle has an indentation in the middle near the wick.  Pour in the remaining amount of the wax to fill in the indentation.

16. Cut wick at about ¼ inch.

17. Let dry for 4-6 hours at room temperature (I prefer to leave it overnight).

18. Enjoy!

Things I learned/Things to Note:

  • Don’t move the candle until it’s dry.  The wax will move with you.
  • Gluing the wick with a hot glue gun is probably a good idea.
  • Wax does not boil, blacken or smoke up it just explodes if it is too hot, so be careful!
  • 1 pound of wax is nothing.  I only made those two candles with one pound of wax.  Check out the matchbox in the picture below for size comparison

If you make your own, make sure to leave a comment with a link to your new candle!

2 Responses to “DIY Make Your Own Candle Project!”

  1. Lindsey@BetterAfter November 8, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. Nicole April 18, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    I have some vintage teacups that I’ve been wanting to make candles with for quite some time. I also have some deep shells that I think this technique would work fantastic with. Thanks for the tutorial!! ^_^

Leave a Reply

