Let’s Talk Bar Carts

8 Dec

Has it really taken me almost a month to get over this flu thing?  Sorry, folks.  But, you will be glad to know that I am back and with more material than ever! 

Why just this morning I picked up these little beauties.  Special props to you if you can guess what they are and what I am doing with them!  (Yes, I know its a blurry Iphone picture shot in a moving car). 

And then of course, there is the matter of the bar cart.  This weekend, while I was looking for something else I bumped into this on Craigslist for a mere $20 buckaroons.  Yes, you read right–$20!   The best part was that it was owned by someone who owns a 1920s barn style house with stain glass windows (super uncommon down here).  Adorable!:

 

Here is a somewhat similar one being sold for $3,600.00 at Mecox:

  

I can’t remember the first time I saw a faux bamboo bar cart, but ever since I have been on the prowl.  Bar carts are that quintecenssial Hollywood Regency item that complete the look I love (a sort of glam Hollywood Regency/vintagesck/nautical look).  The cart is painted some sort of brownish red which I am not digging very much, but I’m not sure if I should paint it red, burnt gold or bronze.  But, look how pretty red faux bamboo looks against dark navy (in this case a rug)!

Via Decor Pad

Then there is the matter of styling.  How do you style a bar cart?  I know mine must have some Grey Goose and whisky along with some sort of Martini shaker.  A decanter would be nice too–and Bacardi for a Cuba Libre. 

When looking for some inspiration the first thing that came to mind was Eddie Ross, because he really is the master of bar cart styling in my mind.  My favorite of his (seen here):

 Then there is this beauty found over at Restoration Hardware:

 

Or these found at Matters of Style:

And then there is one hiding in this lovely room by Jan Showers:

 

And two found over at House of Wentworth:

 And I can’t leave out this one from 3432 Martha:

  

Or this one from Southern Accents:

Do you have a bar cart at home?  Send me a picture!  I would love to see it!  I will also take suggestions as to what color I should paint mine.

2 Responses to “Let’s Talk Bar Carts”

  1. Amy Lambert Lee December 8, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    Love a great bar cart! Good post!

  2. alissa@33shadesofgreen December 9, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Thanks for stopping by. The beach grass came from Pottery Barn a few years ago. Love all the bar carts you featured here.

Leave a Reply

